top of page
We use this to describe a person, food lifestyle choice or product. Vegetarian food includes products derived from animal products but excludes meat. Vegetarian dishes may contain cheese, milk and honey. For example, vegetarians may consume goat cheese but they would not consume goat meat. Typically "ital" food is considered to be vegetarian.
Some individuals in the Caribbean consider themselves vegetarian even though they eat fish. This is why you will find certain vegetarian restaurants also offering fish meals or meals made with fish sauce. It is always best to ask about how your meal is made to make sure you are clear on what you are eating.
​
​
​
Vegetarian
Vegetarian Examples in Barbados
bottom of page